Coffey Votes No on Carbon Capture and Sequestration Legislation

News from:

State Representative Mike Coffey

Springfield, IL…State Representative Mike Coffey (R-Springfield) cast a no vote on SB 1289, legislation that creates Illinois permitting regulations for carbon capture, transport, and sequestration. Representative Coffey expressed concerns over high costs, future risks to groundwater, and the issue of eminent domain.

“The number one problem with this bill is that it infringes on landowners’ property rights,” said Rep. Coffey. “As written in the bill, underground carbon capture storage sites may be installed in areas where landowners oppose, and I don’t feel like that is fair to Illinois property owners.”

Senate Bill 1289 allows for carbon capture, transport, and sequestration throughout the State of Illinois and creates a separate Illinois permitting system in addition to the already required federal permit to perform CCS. Most Republicans voted no on the legislation citing their concerns over the high cost of the permitting process in comparison to neighboring states. Republicans also expressed concern regarding threats to groundwater sources and the potential for environmental disasters in the case of pipeline failure. These risks could impact the health of human beings living in the vicinity of pipelines carrying CO2 underground.

Rep. Coffey continued, “The safety and security of Illinois residents should be a priority for our state and this legislation increases the risk of unintended consequences from high-pressure CO2 being stored underground. I support union jobs but not at the cost of farmers, property rights, and health risks.”

Senate Bill 1289 passed through both Houses and awaits the Governor’s signature to be signed into law.

For more information contact Rep. Coffey’s office at 217-782-0053 or

Representative Mike Coffey serves the constituents of Illinois’ 95th House District that includes parts of Sangamon County, including portions of the City of Springfield and Villages of Chatham and Rochester as well as parts of Macon and Christian Counties.